A Little Self Promotion

Act Like You Mean Business

One indicator that you’ve come upon a subject that you’re passionate about is that in all the thinking and analyzing and dissecting, you constantly come up with new ways to talk about it. I’m doing a couple of PR industry speeches in the coming months, and this is what I hit on the other day:

Think about your last PR campaign, program or presentation. If it were a movie, would it be a summer blockbuster or a box office flop? If it were a television show, would it be must-see TV or a mid-season replacement? If it were a stage show, would it be standing room only or panned by the critics? Start the new year off right by giving your communications a creative boost.

It’s amazing to me that I hadn’t thought of phrasing it quite like this before. I swear I think I could do this forever and improve it every day.

By the way, if you’re ever interested in seeing or hearing these lessons presented live, you can check out the Media and Engagements pages. Here are a few upcoming events:

    • January 17, 2012, 11:30 am, Chicago. I’ll be the luncheon speaker at the Public Relations Society of America’s Chicago chapter meeting. It’s open to the public, for a fee. Register here. (I’m also proud to be keynoting PRSA’s Western Conference in Denver in March.)
    • January 20, 2012, 4 pm ET/3 pm CT. I’ll be interviewed during the second half-hour on the “Making A Living” show on the Martha Stewart Living Radio network. If you’re a subscriber, you can tune in to Sirius 112 and XM 157.
    • March 13, 2012, 12:30 pm ET/11:30 am CT. I’ll be delivering a webinar for Georgetown University’s Office of Alumni Career Services. It’s open to the public and you can register here.

You can also follow along on Facebook, where I periodically announce these things.

Leave a Reply